• Welcome to the Vanguard Community

These forums date back to the game's origins as the Crysis mod Traction Wars. Over the years the game and internet habits have evolved and discord.gg/vanguardww2 is now the principle home of the community.

The team continue to read and reply to posts here, but we can be contacted more quickly on Discord.

Dev Blog #12: Made in England

Status
Not open for further replies.

General Naga

Director/Founder
Pathfinder Games
Hello everyone, I'm [TWDEV] Volcol and I'm a 3D and 2D artist over here on the Traction Wars team. To round off our 2012 blogs I'm happy to introduce the Webley Mark IV.

Seeing its first action in WWII, the Mark IV replaced the heavy WW1 Webley MKVI. Designed in 1932, after many trials and tests it was found that the lighter Mark IV with a smaller calibre and double action was equally as good, if not better than the Mark VI at stopping an enemy. It was not the issued British side arm when WW2 broke out, this honour fell to the Enfield No.2, however due to a chronic lack of No.2's being produced for British personnel, mass numbers of both the Mark IV and Mark VI were commissioned. With over half a million produced, the Mark IV ended the war with a fierce reputation and was the official sidearm for British and Commonwealth forces during the war.

The Webley was a fun project to approach. Again, like the Enfield, it seemed deceptively simple. The model had a few tricky spots, namely the muzzle shape and revolving chamber; however I quickly found a way around them. As with the Enfield and P38, I went about creating the high poly version of the Webley first. From this I would go on to produce the normal for the low poly model.